Hey, Mr. Teacher!

A few days ago, I was having lunch with a couple of school mates and one of my high school teachers. She happened to be one of my favorites in senior school and taught me Political Science – a subject I dreaded till I took her classes! (I’ll come to that later.) It was indeed lovely meeting her after so many years (close to two decades, I’d imagine!) – you know that warm, fuzzy feeling you get when you meet certain people.

Anyhow, she hadn’t changed much – she was just as spirited and passionate as she had been when I was younger. And she still treated us very much like adults and individuals in our own right (as she had when we were school kids.) I mean, when I look back, I can only imagine how challenging it must have been to keep a group of raucous, hormone raged teenagers hooked to her lectures! But she did.

Maybe because of the beautiful stories she used to weave into her lectures. Or maybe because she was just different. (At least she did not think that we did not know what we were talking about and she did listen to what we had to say, which I must say made us feel pretty good!)  Whatever it was, it worked. My grades remained pretty good because of her, I am sure of it, as did my love for the subject. In fact, she was perhaps one of those rare teachers who taught us to think for ourselves, to look beyond the classroom and the books.

Good teachers, come to think of it, do that to you. They leave you with much more than just knowledge. Though you may not realize it at the time, they shape your lives in more ways than one, and their words stay with you long after the lessons are over.

The special ones have the ability to recognize your talent and the vision to nurture it. Just like fifteen-year-old Chinese swimmer Ye Shiwen’s primary school teacher. She took special notice of her pupil’s exceptionally large hands and feet and realized that the girl had what it takes to be a winner. For all the brouhaha over China’s ‘medal factories’, it paid off. At the age of 16, Ye Shiwen has not only set a new world record, she has become a poster girl for aspiring swimmers. (Yes, I am aware that teachers in China are trained to spot school kids with special physical attributes, who are then packed off to training camps -  but that’s not necessarily a bad thing, is it? If anything, it proves that there is at least a will to nurture excellence.)

It makes me wonder. Do we (at least in India’s current education system) have teachers who are capable or even equipped to spot talent? And if at all, are they even bothered to do something with it? Are they willing to look beyond the ordinary, to go that extra mile? Or are they willing to settle for mediocrity (as they have been doing for years) as long as the syllabus is complete and the grades are good? Are they ready to break the mold and create winners?

These are some thoughts that come to my mind. Partly because of that stimulating conversation over lunch; and partly because my son is about to enter school life and thus begin a new chapter in his life. As a mother, I truly wish for it to be a positive and enriching one.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatstheformulablog
    Aug 20, 2012 @ 03:43:40

    I like your phrase “nurture excellence” – we should be more vigilant with our young ones to detect and then nurture special skills.

    Reply

  2. Anamika Chocolatina Ghosh
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 15:52:05

    I have discovered to my horror, that the quality of teachers, since we left school two decades ago, has sunk to levels so low, that i sometimes wonder what things are coming to. The language teachers use today shocks me. Vocabulary, diction, grammar, everything, is all over the place. Then I can just imagine what must be the state of other subjects taught!!! It’s only about marks and percentages, as it was even before, only now it seems to be the only driving force along with meeting the ‘deadline’ !!!

    Reply

    • mothergooseblog
      Aug 31, 2012 @ 19:05:47

      I agree..I have been doing the usual rounds of schools for my son’s admission to nursery and have met many teachers and principals….and well, lets say the experience has been far from comforting…even simple, basic English sentences are incorrect. At one point, we were actually contemplating home schooling! Most schools in Gurgaon are all too fancy and fluff for our liking, and can you believe, there is not a single missionary school here!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

